Depending on the channel type, such as Twilio, a contact will automatically be placed in the ‘Stopped’ folder in the ‘Contacts’ tab if they’ve opted-out of receiving your messages. These contacts are removed from all groups.

If the channel does not already have opt-out keywords, you can build your own opt-out language into your flows, which is considered a best practice.

You can use the ‘Update the Contact’ action in your flow to change the contact’s status from ‘active’ to ‘stopped’ or ‘[blocked](/en/article/blocking-contacts-6b2mii/)’.

In the example below, the contact has opted out of receiving a newsletter:

If they respond with NO, we will update their status from ‘active’ to ‘stopped’:


Unlike blocking a contact, stopped contacts can send you incoming messages to opt back in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.