When you create a new flow, you have the option to choose the default language. This means that if a contact does not have a language preference set, then they will automatically receive the flow’s messages in the default language.

Remember that to be able to translate a flow into multiple languages, you’ll need to make sure you’ve added those languages to your workspace. You can then translate the flow.

But what happens if you want to change the default language after creating the flow?

First, be sure to create the translations. In our example, English has been set as the default language, but we want to change it to Spanish. After translating all the nodes into Spanish, we’ll click on the ‘Spanish’ link:

This will change all the nodes over to the Spanish translations. We’ll see a new tab pop up on the right side of the editor. This is where you manage your translations. Click that tab to expand:

The green bar shows us that we’ve completed 100% of the translation and we’ll click on the down arrow to expand the tab further:

Again, we can see that 100% of the translations are complete. Since we wish to change the default language to Spanish, we’ll then click the ‘Use as default language’ button:

We’ll be asked if we really to want to change the default language to Spanish:

That’s it! The flow’s default language has been changed from English to Spanish. This means that your contacts who don’t already have a language preference set will automatically receive the flow in Spanish and that if no translation exists for their preferred language, they will receive the flow in Spanish as well. In our example above, there is no translation for Portuguese meaning that even if that language is set as the contact’s preference, they’ll receive the flow in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *